Skip to main content

Jess
would like a new home

Whippet
Can you give Jess a new home

Jess

Breed: Lurcher
Age: 2 years
Sex: Bitch
Date Added: 13/07/2019

Rescue Information

Rescue: Greyhound Gap
Contact: Rose Marie
Website: www.greyhoundgap.org.uk
Telephone: Rose Marie on 01256 771819 (9am - 9pm)

About Me

ess is a 2 year old lurcher girl who was originally rehomed by Greyhound Gap 18 months ago having come to us as a puppy who had already been passed through 5 homes. Sadly Jess' owner has now become too ill to keep her permanently so she is looking for a new home. Jess is collie x deerhound x greyhound and is a big strong girl not only in body but in mind and can be quite wilful at times. That though is down to her breeding and the fact she is an intelligent dog who needs an experienced owner to offer her a very busy lifestyle and to spend plenty of time with her ensuring she has lots to do and mental stimulation along the way.

She currently lives with a lurcher male who she adores but she does annoy him at times when he wants to just relax and settle if she is bored. Out and about on lead she can be quite vocal at times but she is a frustrated greeter who would benefit from more socialisation and basic training classes to help improve both her manners and her bond between herself and her owner. She is not aggressive but when off lead running with other dogs can be very stalky and a little nippy which is her herding side coming through.

Jess would be best placed into a home with someone around all or most of the time and with the energy to continue to bring her on, spend a lot of time with her and the desire to have a dog who is both active and willing to train. Focussed with the right person we feel she would love an agility home. Jess can happily live with other medium to larger male dogs but they must be a dog confident enough to let her know when enough is enough. We do not feel a home with another female in is the right environment for her as she could quite easily clash if any attempts were made to put her into her place to begin with. If Jess were to be an only dog it most definitely would need to be with an owner who was around all of the time and able to work hard to settle her down. She has had separation anxiety in the past when much younger hence the reason as a pup before coming to us she was passed around but this has now stopped and we do not want to restart it.

Jess is currently with her owner still and will hopefully remain there whilst we find the right home. We do not feel a home with young children would be right but older children 10 years and upwards who know how to be calm around a dog when necessary would be fine. She is housetrained, fine to be left for a few hours currently with another dog and travels like a dream. She spends a lot of her time holiday at her current families static caravan so is use to relaxing in strange environments

Jess is vaccinated, kc vaccinated, de flead, de wormed, microchipped and spayed and can be rehomed nationally subject to a successful homevisit and all members of the immediate family and any resident dogs being willing to travel to meet with her.

For more information or to offer Jess a suitable home in the first instance please complete the pre adoption questionnaire below

www.greyhoundgap.org.uk/our-dogs/pre-adoption-quest

Want to Adopt Jess?

If you would like to give Jess a new home, please contact the rescue on Rose Marie on 01256 771819 (9am - 9pm) and ask for Rose Marie or send an email using the form if available.


Contact Form

Please use the form to send a message directly to the rescue.